PK Talk – Permission to Play

So whether it’s a website, or a PK talk, or a conversation with someone at a bus stop we are the representatives of an incredible concept; that is pretty cool.

Hello!

Firstly I must send out an enormous Thank You for the wonderful reception this site has received in the short time since it went live.

I am genuinely thrilled beyond measure by the people who have already contacted me via the site and social media to let me know that you like it. I really appreciate you taking the time to let me know you’re out there!

I have said that one of my ‘hopes’ for this site is about spreading the Forest School message. Getting what we do out there to a wider audience, taking time to explain and make it relevant to their lives and their experience.

9 months ago I got chance to speak at the Flatpack film festival in Birmingham. The  ‘theme’ was film, the audience all adults – now we know as practitioners we sometimes have to get creative, so I decided there was definitely still an opportunity to talk about Forest School and Play!

Below is the result.

I was desperately nervous having done zero public speaking before & the sound quality isn’t amazing. I ‘um’ a bit and lose my words at one point (which still makes me cringe!) But no-one in that room knew about forest school before…and now they do.

So whether it’s a website, or a PK talk or a conversation with someone at a bus stop, we are the representatives of an incredible concept;  that is pretty cool. Go talk to someone who doesn’t know what Forest School is, get through awkward, forge through fear of ‘getting it wrong’ and remember we carry with us something so precious and so special that the odd ‘Um’ or typo does not distract from the message.

Be brave, your tribe is with you!

 

Leave a comment